Skip to content

Colour Confidential

August 6, 2010

I’m a green person. Not just any green – I love olive green. Not Christmas green. Not Grass green. Not Lime green.

Olive green.

To me, Olive green is a peaceful, serene colour. I once painted my entire apartment in olive green, and every time I had a visitor stop by, they would always comment on how relaxing and calming the place was.

I still have an olive green sofa in my living room, though the walls are now something called Ginger Root and Covered Bridge.

Do I use Olive Green in my quilts? I can’t say that I do. As much as I like the colour, I know it’s not a colour for everyone, and I do give away most of my quilts. So, no. I don’t use it in my quilts all that much.

Maybe it’s time I do.

What is your favourite colour and why? Do you find you use it in your quilts frequently?

~ Heather

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 8:05 am

    do you love olives too? šŸ™‚ My favorite color changes with time or with my phase in life. i am not a quilter but i admire quilts and the patient hands that made them. olive green is indeed serene šŸ™‚

  2. Joanne Colleaux permalink
    August 6, 2010 5:49 pm

    One of my big learning curves with quilting was moving from colours that I liked to wear or with which I liked to decorate to those colours that would work well in a quilt design. The journey continues. I’m probably happiest working with blues, and I love my blue/yellow quilt. However, these days I am doing lots of scrappy quilts – more work than with a few fabrics, but lots of impact.

  3. August 7, 2010 5:33 am

    Olive Green is a perfect colour for leaves/stems. It’s one of my favourite for those, especially if it has some other shades with it.

    My favourite colour is purple, and no, I don’t use if often in quilts. I don’t actually have a lot of purple in my stash. One day I’ll make a purple quilt for me. It’s a funky colour and matching it can be a challenge.

    I’ve been dyeing my own fabrics lately, trying to come up with various shades of lilac for an applique project. As luck would have it, one of my “clean up” pieces is exactly the colour I was trying to produce. Too funny, how that happens.

  4. August 10, 2010 11:48 pm

    I really like olive green too. I like to eat olives. My sewing studio is painted in an olive green color. But for quilts, I always like to use a bit of yellow and I try to include yellow to create a bit of spark..

Leave a Reply

