Skip to content

All work and no play…

July 20, 2010

… makes me very sad. That’s why my family got away this past weekend to Whistler BC for a sun-filled, fun-filled two days. Come Monday morning, I was completely recharged and ready to take on the work week!

I did manage to get some work done over the weekend, though. But I don’t really consider quilting “work”, even though I did finish a sample for the magazine. I finished  Janet Rice-Bredin’s Caribbean Dreaming quilt project from the Summer issue of Quilter’s Connection Magazine. I love the colours that Janet used, they remind me so much of the beautiful colours of the tropical waters in places we’ve vacationed in the past.

Not a tropical locale, but Whistler is still such a beautiful place to visit, with mountains and trees, beautiful wildflowers, and even some snow at the top of the peaks in July!

Did I mention I married into a rather athletic family? My husband plays golf and hockey, and is a competitive sailor. His daughter is currently in Hong Kong competing in the World Dragonboat Championships. And my step-son coaches a junior hockey team in his spare time. So, we decided to try something new and different with this visit to the mountains. Monkido at Wildplay is an “aerial adventure tree to tree obstacle course”. And more than a little bit of a workout! But a great deal of fun, and no better place for such an adventure – through old growth trees, over creeks and with views of the stunning mountains of the area.

Ah, but back to reality and the stuffiness of my office this week. Thank goodness for weekends!

I have begun working on a new project though. Actually, a couple of new projects – I have another sample for the Fall issue that is sitting on the sewing table right now (and it’s soooo cute!), I’m drafting a pattern for the August e-newsletter, and have two baby quilts on the design wall in my mind!  Photos to come…

In the meantime, Happy Quilting! ~ heather

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 12:37 pm

    Canadian vacations are always the best! We have a gorgeous and diverse country. : )

  2. Gay Cluer permalink
    August 10, 2010 7:36 pm

    Hi Heather,

    Enjoyed reading about your trip to Whistler and glad you had a fun time. We are very fortunate to live here and are looking forward to you being at our Quilt Show in June 2011.

    If ever you are up here again and at a loose end get in touch as us Whistler Quilters would enjoy meeting up with you.

    In the local Library Guild members made a big wall hanging quilt so if you are in there it is over the fireplace. You can’t miss it!

    Gay Cluer
    Whistler

Leave a Reply

