Skip to content

Advice for the beginner…

July 15, 2010

I’ve discovered a website that helps with blogger’s block – it’s called Plinky. Each day, you are given a question to ask yourself, and then you blog about it. It is supposed to help you get your writer’s mojo flowing.

So, a recent question was, “What was the best advice you ever received?”. I’ve taken that one step further and thought, “What is the best quilting advice I ever received?”

I’d been quilting for many years, making all the mistakes I could possibly make, before someone finally convinced me to take a quilting class. It was a beginner class – Basic Quilting for Beginners –  at my LQS (local quilt shop). I don’t remember how long the class was, though I managed to finish a six-block quilt, so it must have been a six-week class.

I think that was the best thing I’ve ever done for my quilting – taking a beginner class. I managed to create a lovely quilt that I love and look at every day because it sits on the sofa in my living room. And I learned so much, from how to prepare fabrics to how to sew on a binding, and everything in between.

Most beginner classes help quilters with the basics of quilting, including various quilting techniques such as applique (think Grandmother’s Flower Garden), to  matching points when making the Ohio Star  and Road to California blocks. In my beginner class, we even learned how to ease the seam allowances if you’re quilt is different lengths on each side, so you end up with a quilt that lies flat, not rippled. I also learned about the local quilt guild (which I joined), got some great advice about colour and fabric choices, and had a wonderful time with some lovely, like-minded women.

Today, years after that class, I still frequently refer to the notes the instructor provided. I’ve also added some notes of my own, as I learn new things, new techniques and tips, and come up with new ideas.

So, I guess the best advice I ever received as a quilter was, TAKE A CLASS. After all, you have to actually learn the rules, before you can break them!

What was the best advice you ever received?

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    July 15, 2010 8:16 pm

    “if you can’t see it from a helicopter flying over head, don’t worry about the little mistakes” nobody else will notice either

  2. July 16, 2010 12:35 am

    100% cotton is best… and there’s no need to pre-wash the new fabrics, they’re high quality and will wash beautiful anyway. (Use a colour catcher if you’re afraid of bleeding… they’re really good too!)

  3. Colleen permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:04 am

    The best advice I’ve got is from Sandy at “Quilting for the Rest of Us” podcast. It was: Get Over Yourself. I need to explain. She was talking about the fear of doing something new, or something hard (for me, it’s quilting the quilt) and she meant that you should just jump in and do it.

    It worked for me. I’m still afraid, but I don’t get blocked like I used to.

    Colleen

  4. July 19, 2010 12:11 pm

    I give the advice that you should take as many classes as you can with as many teachers as you can. Don’t stick to the same teacher, find new ones. You will learn something new every time you take a class.

Leave a Reply

