Skip to content

Oh my heavens!

July 3, 2010

Quilt Shop Alert! Quilt Shop Alert!

A new quilt shop has opened up in Burnaby BC, and I am so very excited, because it is so close to my home I can actually walk to it! I will likely have to take a cab home with all my purchases whenever I visit, but did I mention it’s so close I can walk to it? And there is a Starbuck’s right next door, too. Now I’m in heaven!

Oh, can you tell I’m excited?

I’m truly the spoiled one, because I met with Debbie Miller, owner of The Needle and I Quilt Shop and Sewing Centre earlier this week, before the grand opening. There’s been no peeking allowed by passer’s by, as the windows have been covered with paper for weeks now. But I not only got a sneak peak, I also received the coveted Needle and I Quilt Shop pen before anyone else! And I got the lowdown on the grand opening specials and great prizes too.

No Peeking!

Debbie Miller, the owner of The Needle and I Quilt Shop

Debbie took a few moments out of her crazy busy day to entertain me in her new store, show me around, introduce me to some of her staff, and let me fondle the beautiful fabrics she has in stock:

The Needle and I Quilt Shop

Louise - one of the friendly staff hard at work getting ready for grand opening

Oh, and drool over the Grand Quilter she has strategically placed in the front window!

Drool, drool, drool

The Needle and I offers a lovely selection of quilting fabrics for addicts just like me, and they are specializing in reproduction prints, including the Jo Morton line. The shop also sells and services Pfaff sewing machines, will have classes starting in the fall, and offers long arm services as well. ¬†Definitely worth checking out if you’re in the neighborhood!

And, and, and… they are having a grand opening week until July 10th, with lots of great in-store specials, and some wonderful prizes!

The Needle and I Quilt Shop and Sewing Centre
7870 – 6th Street
Burnaby, BC
Tel: 778-397-8001
www.theneedleandiquiltshop.com

Good luck Debbie, I’m sure you’ll be seeing lots of me in your store! ~ Heather

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    Wow!! Lucky you and look at the lovely wool work on the walls which must mean wool and wool patterns!! DROOL!! I think a trip to Burnaby is in order!!
    Take care!
    Paulette

  2. July 4, 2010 5:38 am

    I love the quilt blocks on the floor!!

  3. July 7, 2010 8:21 pm

    Looks like a great little shop! Love the bright, fresh decor – wish I were closer to shop there. Best wishes for a successful opening.

    • Heather permalink*
      July 8, 2010 4:22 pm

      Kim, You’ll just have to come and visit! We have some wonderful LQS in the Vancouver area where you could do some serious damage to your credit card!

Leave a Reply

