Skip to content

Grrr!

June 25, 2010

Please forgive my rant today. That’s all I can say – I cannot be held responsible.

I’m extremely frustrated with Canada Post. If there was another option, I’d be on it in a flash! I’ve had two emails – just today – from subscribers for Quilter’s Connection Magazine saying they have not yet received their copies of the Summer issue. It was mailed on May 27th. That was one month ago. Where did they go, to China and back? Are they on a boat through the Panama Canal to get to the other side of the country????!!!!!

And then…. Oh yes, there is more! I receive notification of undeliverable mail from Canada Post. They were unable to deliver the magazine to a specific address. I emailed the subscriber to confirm the address, thinking we had it wrong. No, we have it right. For some reason Canada Post still could not deliver it. Why not? Did the post man lose his way?

OH, wait, there is still more. I go to the post office today to re-send those issues that the subscribers did not get, and also mail some little gifts to Facebook friends in a Pay It Forward Handmade Swap, and this little package, which is 6″ x 9″ x 1″ and weighs about 2 oz – can’t say what it is is, cause it was supposed to be a surprise.

Oh yes I can, ’cause I’m not sending them now… it was a pin cushion for crying out loud!

Sorry ladies, if you’re reading this you’re not getting them! Because Canada Post considers this a parcel, and it will cost $13 to mail!

$13 each! And I have three of them!

Okay, I’m not cheap, but $13 for a fat letter is ridiculous!

To my Pay It Forward friends, I’m sorry. I’ll be making something else just as cute, but that will fit in an envelope. As soon as I can. Or maybe I’ll mail them from the US – it probably doesn’t cost nearly as much!

All right, enough of my griping. I plan to go to my guild’s Drop In tomorrow, and work on the following projects:

BETTER LATE THAN NEVER BABY QUILT

CARIBBEAN DREAMING SAMPLE QUILT

I promise to all my guild friends that I’ll be in a better mood tomorrow. I promise!

In the meantime, Happy Quilting, and Happy Weekend to all!

~ Heather

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 11:08 pm

    I know the frustration you feel regarding Canada Post. I have to ship cones of thread across Canada and the US and it is much cheaper to send identical parcels to Florida than it is to Nova Scotia. Our postage is outrageous. The reason is that Canada Post got rid of ‘small packet’ (or whatever they called it) and now, as you found out – they are parcels and charged accordingly. Now I’m all frustrated for you remembering all the troubles I’ve had LOL!
    Have a great fun day tomorrow,
    …from a subscriber and advertiser that DID get her magazine 😉

  2. Deborah permalink
    June 25, 2010 11:12 pm

    I feel your pain. CP can be so frustrating. The cost is outragious and I have had mail that hasn’t been delivered to correct addresses either.

  3. June 25, 2010 11:34 pm

    Heather,

    I hate to add to your frustration, but my Summer issue has not arrived yet either. I wasn’t expecting it yet, so didn’t think to notify you. I hope my membership hasn’t expired. You will notifiy us when it’s due, right? If you’ve sent a renewal notification, I haven’t received that either.

    It does, however, seem to take *forever* to get your magazine, so perhaps it will arrive next week.

    Michele

    • June 25, 2010 11:39 pm

      This happened to a friend of mine…she made me a pincushion and it was going to cost her a small fortune too so she removed the stuffing and sent it flat and I stuffed it when I received it…AND I LOVE IT!! Maybe you could do this?
      (I sent a small fold out album to my daughter in Calgary and it took 3 weeks to get to her…I live in Victoria!! I was not happy either!)
      Keep smiling!
      Paulette

      • Heather permalink*
        June 26, 2010 1:49 am

        Paulette – your response made me laugh so hard! What a great way to ‘beat the system’! And I’m sure you and your friend had a great laugh out of this too.
        I feel so much better knowing I’m not alone in my frustration. Not that we can do anything about it, I’m sure!

  4. June 26, 2010 2:04 am

    Canada Post rates are an embarrassment. I mailed a package from Toronto to Ottawa this week – it was 3 small (maybe 7″ x 9″) zipper bags I had made. It cost $10.13!!!! I could have mailed them from the States for about $4 or less! The birthday is today so I didn’t have a choice. If a package doesn’t qualify for the letter rate the price is beyond ridiculous. We feel your pain, that’s for sure! When I know I’m going Stateside for a Joanns shopping trip, I also make sure I get things ready for a mail run – the post office in Williamsville, New York is great, lol!

  5. Colleen permalink
    June 26, 2010 2:36 am

    How can any business that does mail order in Canada compete with an American business? Their postage rates are so much more reasonable than ours!

    Colleen

  6. June 26, 2010 3:26 am

    I give a book away every week, and the international rates are expensive.

  7. June 26, 2010 3:32 am

    That is so frustrating! As much as I love doing swaps, it’s always a shock when I go to do the mailing. I do hope all your mail now arrives quickly. Even my subscription, which should arrive the next day based on my proximity – took close to 3 weeks to get here! Tomorrow will be a much better day!
    and I love Paulette’s solution!

  8. June 26, 2010 4:04 am

    Another rant .. I mailed a package for my nieces yesterday from Ottawa to Uxbridge (north of Toronto). It’s just a few special things for them for Canada Day. I was told it might not arrive on time. 3-4 business days. I could drive there countless times in the amount of time they estimate. I hope it arrives for them to enjoy.

    And, this whole fuel surcharge instituted a couple of years ago when our gas was in the 1.40/l range has not gone away. How ridiculous is that since gas has been back down to a more “reasonable” $1/litre for at least a year and a half.

    Our government taking unnecessary advantage of us is what it is. I’ve tried to email the Canada Post ombudsman, but the email address links don’t work. 😦

  9. June 26, 2010 4:07 am

    Heather, I keep meaning to ask you and only now just remembered. What happens with HST? Will you have to charge it to us (in Ontario)? i.e. collect the HST portion for Ontario even though you are in BC? Or will you just be charging and collecting GST on all out of BC sales?

    I’ve spent way too much time this week actually trying to figure out how this will impact my business. I can’t find the answers I need, so I’ll have to call CRA next week.

    Michele

  10. June 26, 2010 5:34 am

    Hi Heather, it’s Heidi @ BCAMP. I came across this post via Twitter. If you are finding you are getting passed from Canada Post CS rep to CS rep without getting to the bottom of the undeliverable addresses and missing issues, I have the name of a higher-up rep you might turn to for some answers. I’ll send the contact info to you on Monday (remind me if I forget!). Rest assured you are not alone with the so-called undeliverable addresses that should be deliverable–this is a common gripe of our circulation committee members!

    Cute pincushions–shame they cost too much to send!

  11. June 26, 2010 10:45 pm

    Heather, I feel your pain. I ship and receive mail from the U.S.A and Australia. I ship everything air mail because if I don’t it won’t get there. To send a parcel surface to “Aus”, it would take 2 months!!!! To southwest Illinois, it takes 2 weeks. Airmail, 6 days. Which way does the plane fly?
    There is absolutely no excuse for our mail delivery. If our postal workers weren’t so darn lazy and my mailman is one of them, we would all get our mail promptly like we did in the good old days, when it went by train. We get mail delivered to our door twice a week. Its out of his way to come any more than that.
    Have a good rest of the week-end.

  12. June 28, 2010 4:42 pm

    I found that the thickness of the parcel is more important than the weight when I was sending the famous Olympic red mittens to my aunt in Massachusetts. When I had them bundled together, it was going to cost about $10 to send, so I clipped the tag, put them side by side, and it was about $3!

  13. Joanne Colleaux permalink
    June 29, 2010 2:18 pm

    I am all for holding Canada Post accountable for their service. The latest fiasco was an “expedited parcel” – just a legal-size envelope – taking 2 weeks to come from Edmonton to Armstrong (in the north Okanagan), with the expected time being 2-3 business days. With the tracking website, I found that it had languished in Vancouver for over a week. I apply for refunds when the promised service does not happen.

    Tracking website ( http://www.canadapost.ca/cpo/mc/default.jsf?LOCALE=en
    The claims website (not that easy to find from the main page) is https://obc.canadapost.ca/orc/claimsEntry.do?type=2

  14. July 3, 2010 7:10 pm

    Oh gosh, after reading all these comments I promise I won’t complain about the US postal service again! Thank you for making me realize I am more fortunate than I realized.

    Love your blog!

    Sue in CA, aka fabricpixie

  15. Marjorie permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:11 pm

    I, too, get annoyed with Canada Post, but at the same time I am amazed that postal services all over the world co-operate enough to get mail anywhere in the world.

Trackbacks

  1. Sharing my pain « Quilter's Connection Blog

Leave a Reply

