Skip to content

The MOD Squad

June 19, 2010

Thursday night stitch session: The first ever meeting of the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild at a funky little place in Vancouver called the Spool of Thread Sewing Lounge. Lilli and Henry, the owners of Spool of Thread, just opened their doors a few weeks ago, and are already a hit with sewers and quilters.

Anyway, back to the meeting. 42 women and 1 man in attendance – all Modern Quilter’s in some form or another. As one quilter put it, “Modern Quilting is for those who don’t fit into the traditional mould.” I like that idea. I certainly feel like sometimes I don’t fit into any mould.

I wasn’t sure how the meeting would progress, as it was the first time we got together, and I really didn’t know what to expect. Would the agenda take on a similar feel as traditional guild meetings? Would everyone be younger than me? Would I fit in as a very new Modern Quilter, with only one Modern Quilt (not even finished) to my name? Will they serve coffee? Will they like me? Will they, will they, will they…?

Well, I should not have been concerned. There were several people I already knew there. And everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The meeting began by everyone introducing themselves to the group – who you are, how long have you been quilting, do you have a blog, etc. We had the usual Show & Tell. Wow! Some very talented quilters in the bunch! Especially Paul, the only man there, who has been quilting for 25 years. Very inspirational!

And then there was coffee and tea and treats – yummy! Thanks to Holly for those delicious ginger cookies, and everyone else who brought goodies. Quilting and food – two of my favourite things. This could be very fun!

Oh, and the door prizes – I won! I won! I never win anything. But last night I won a beautiful package of silk fabrics from Mostly Silk. Thanks Louise for your donation!

I’m very excited about the next meeting, planned for July 15th. Who’d have thought to have guild meetings in the Summer?? I’ve often wondered why guilds take the summer off. They say it’s because everyone goes on holidays in July and August. Is that really still true? More than a few of the members in my guild are Snowbirds – away half the Winter! Why don’t we take December and January off instead? Only makes sense to me – they are my busiest months. But, whatever.

It was really fun to see so many younger faces in the crowd. Quilting is really experiencing a resurgence, but with that I think quilting has changed quite significantly. Younger quilters are not content to create quilts like their grandmothers made. Just Google “Modern Quilting” and see what comes up. The first site is a Flickr site. With the world wide web, quilting has taken on a completely different personality. Quilters now Flickr, and Blog, and Tweet, and Facebook, and information is sent out faster than you can say, “I like Modern Quilts!”. Modern Quilts, and the fabrics that are used to make them, are new and fresh and fun. And one thing I noticed as I listened to everyone talk last night – Modern Quilting is where there are no rules, only suggestions, and where quilters aren’t afraid to try something new, and make mistakes, and shake them off and say, “Oh, well. I love what I did anyway, and I’m proud of myself for accomplishing this!”

Not to say I’m going to give up completely on Traditional Quilting, but I think I’m going to like being a Modern Quilter.

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 1:09 am

    Me, too!! Congrats on the silk win – great to see you there last night, Heather.

  2. June 19, 2010 3:39 am

    Ah darn! I wish I’d been able to attend – I’ve got the July one in my calendar already! Congrats on your win – I love working with silks, and Louise has some beautiful ones!

  3. June 19, 2010 3:08 pm

    Hi Heather,

    Thanks for coming to the meeting and writing this great description of the fun time we had! I hope we can continue to create a welcoming atmosphere full of fun, creativity and inspiration at our meetings.

    Holly

  4. July 3, 2010 1:28 pm

    I totally agree with you about summer meetings. My Caledonia guild meets for sewing only (no ‘meeting’) in July and August. It’s strictly for the gals who miss each other’s company over the summer. We charge $5 per person to attend and this month one of our members has offered to teach a handbag class. How fun is that?
    http://www.caledonia-quilt-guild.blogspot.com

    • Heather permalink*
      July 3, 2010 6:19 pm

      That’s a great idea – meeting in the Summer. And how nice of your friend to teach a class!

Leave a Reply

