Skip to content

We all Scream for Ice Cream!

May 29, 2010

What does ice cream have to do with quilting? Well, nothing really, unless you’re making an ice cream quilt. But read on and I’ll explain.

My husband and I took my 88 year old mother-in-law out for lunch the other day, and afterwards my husband – who LOVES ice cream – decided to stop at an ice cream parlour for dessert. Now, this isn’t your regular ice cream parlour. La Casa Gelato in Vancouver makes over 500 flavours, and they have over 200 flavours of ice cream in the shop at any one time. Over 500 flavours you say?

That’s where it gets interesting. While my husband and mother-in-law got busy picking out flavours for their cones, I wandered the store, looking at everything, taking in all the aromas and colours and sounds. La Casa has the usual Vanilla, Chocolate, and Strawberry ice creams. But they also have Mango and Kiwi and Walnut Fudge and sorbets of all colours and tastes. And then there is Wasabi, Curry, Garlic, and Pumpkin –  some of the more unusual flavours. Really, this is one ice cream store that stretches the limit!

You’re probably still wondering what all this has to do with quilting. I’m getting to that, but I can be long-winded.

The great thing about this ice cream shop, as with many ice cream shops, is the tasting spoons. Taste to your heart’s content! So I did. Limoncello, Fig and Almond, Maple Walnut, Cotton Candy. I asked my mother-in-law if she wanted to try the Balsamic Vinegar. She kind of wrinkled her nose and politely declined, saying it would ruin the taste of her vanilla cone.

That’s where the quilting comes in. You see, when it comes to quilting, I think I’m a bit like my mother-in-law. I’m afraid to take chances and try something new. I quilt my own quilts, but usually take the boring route and stitch-in-the-ditch. I do stippling, but I’m not very good at it, and I wouldn’t try anything more than the meandering loops, rather than actual shapes – like flowers or hearts or stars. I stick to the same colour schemes when piecing – earthy tones of red and green and brown, with a bit of gold or yellow thrown in to brighten things up. I like the simple patterns that are easy to put together, and absolutely love paper-piecing because of it’s precision.

I don’t go out on a limb when I quilt. I don’t take the chances to see what might happen. I’m boring, boring, boring. Funny, because many parts of my life are far from mundane. I’m willing to take risks, step off the ledge and just jump in with both feet – publishing a quilting magazine itself is a big risk in this economy, marrying my husband, backpacking through Australia, running a marathon, learning to scuba-dive…. I could keep going, but you get my drift.

What happens with quilting? Why can’t I step out of my comfortable little box and try something daring and new? For fear that someone will see it and critique it?  For fear that it won’t be pretty enough or good enough or ‘just right’? For fear that I won’t like it?

You never know unless you try. Take a chance and see what happens. Like the Balsamic Vinegar ice cream, you might just like it!

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    May 29, 2010 11:26 pm

    how is this for an ice cream quilting connection…there is a block called the ice cream cone block . If you follow this link below you can see the one my great grandmother made sometime in the 1940’s when living in Kansas!
    http://lalaslovelys.blogspot.com/2009/06/absolutely-stunning-by-genevieve.html

Leave a Reply

