Skip to content

Tell me about it!

March 15, 2010

I’ve been asked by a number of people recently, as the editor of a quilting magazine, where does the inspiration for articles and projects come from, and how do I hear about designers whose patterns we feature in the magazine.

Those questions are easy to answer – from you of course!  I get emails all the time from quilters with suggestions for articles, the mention names of great quilt designers here in Canada, and comments on products you’ve tried and really like.  Readers are a valuable source for content, and I love to hear from you – to learn about someone or something new and pass that information on to other quilters.

Another fabulous source of inspiration for me is guild newsletters.  I love getting your newsletters!  They keep me up to date with what is happening – that’s how I learn about quilt shows and get new ideas for articles.  Why, just this morning I opened up an email from a BC guild, and read about a presentation on Pysanky – a study of colour and design in Ukranian Easter eggs.  Now, Pysanky has nothing to do with quilting… or does it?  The beautiful designs could be translated into a quilt pattern, couldn’t they?  Do the designs used in Pysanky have a specific meaning?  What about the colours?  How does that relate to quilting?  Tradition and heritage is often communicated through fabric and quilting, just like the tradition of painting Easter eggs.  Well, this could make an interesting article for next Spring’s issue!

You see?!

So, on that note, if you belong to a guild, I’d love to receive your newsletter!  Pass the message on to the editor and ask that they add our email address to the mailing list info@quiltersconnection.ca

The more newsletters I receive the more great ideas we’ll have for future issues!

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 4:07 am

    Nice post Heather! Yes, I feel that anything really could be translated into a quilting design… Ukranian eggs too!! Fabulous idea for next Easter :o) Hugs, L

Leave a Reply

