Skip to content

My Mother Always Told Me…

March 4, 2010

… if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

I’ve tried to stick to that motto throughout my life – sometimes I slip up – but we all make mistakes once in a while.

So why is it that some people feel they should point out the mistakes of other quilters?  Aren’t quilts supposed to have mistakes in them?  There really are quilters, as beautiful and as perfect as their quilts might be, who purposely do something in their quilt that is wrong – a block upside-down, or the wrong color thread in the applique… because God is the only being who makes anything perfect.

I am by no means an expert quilter.  I’ve been quilting for 16 years, and I still consider myself a beginner.  I am excited to even just complete a quilt, and if I think it’s good, well as long as I’m happy, right?

I just want to say this, and I’m not saying we are all guilty of pointing out mistakes – on the contrary – we are usually a very kind and generous group.  But if someone shows up at your guild meeting with a quilt that is not perfect, please don’t say anything!  Just smile and applaud with the rest of the members, and remember back to the last mistake you made.

“If you don’t make mistakes, you don’t make anything” ~ Proverb

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 6:20 am

    Thanks Heather!! A Good post…something that we should talk about more often!! Thanks for tackling a tough topic!!
    Paulette

  2. Jo Vandermey permalink
    March 4, 2010 1:21 pm

    I am with you! Some people do it unintentionally – they have been taught to always see the faults in others. Some do it to make themselves feel better or superior. A article could be entitled “Top Ways to Discourage Others Quilters” This one could lead the list!

    The fact is most of us are not “show” quilters. It would be an interesting survey to see who is still trying to reach “the perfect point club” or “never found a patch in wrong club” . lol

    I have been happily quilting and making mistakes for over 25 years (although there were many years I did not quilt in between)

    Happy to be literally “Just your average Jo quilter”

    Jo Vandermey

    Beamsville, Ontario

  3. March 5, 2010 7:52 pm

    Skillfully stated. Wow, if we had to wait to share our passions until they were perfect(in who’s opinion)this pursuit would lack joyfulness and probably cease to exist. And, isn’t that why we do things to bring joy and new opportunities for growth into our lives? Hurray, to all that love to share their projects!! I believe we should always look for the best in others if we wish to receive the same in return.

  4. March 12, 2010 7:48 pm

    I agree completely that manners really matter. However you have also pointed out that errors are part of learning and sometimes constructive feedback about how we can do better might save us from making the same mistake again. Personally I always prefer to make different mistakes next time!

    I have an example of constructive criticism from a camera club event I attended where a model was engaged to allow us to practise photographing people outdoors. I showed one of my photos to a more experienced camera club member and he said (in a very dramatic voice) “Oh no…That poor girl has no feet!”

    I immediately realised that I had framed my photograph incorrectly so the model’s feet were out of the frame and I (most likely) won’t make that mistake again.

    As a new quilter I appreciate constructive comments on how I might do better next time. They key is to keep it nice. And if we disagree with the input we can always ignore it 🙂

  5. Laura permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:13 pm

    I always understood that the Amish women purposely made a mistake in their quilts, their way of stating that they are not perfect, only God is perfect. Makes me feel much better about my mistakes!

Leave a Reply

