Skip to content

Music to Quilt by…

February 17, 2010

I’m in a music mood today.  The sun is shining through my window, and I’d much rather be outside enjoying the beautiful weather.  Instead I am inside getting things organized for three upcoming shows Quilter’s Connection Magazine will have a booth at – Victoria Sewing & Crafts Show (March 12/13), Vancouver Sewing & Crafts Show (April 16/17) and the BIG ONE! Quilt Canada in Calgary (April 26-May 1).

I also want to work on a baby quilt for a friend.  But I need some inspiration for that.

Music, that’s it!  Maybe a little Matt Nathanson?

Music always inspires me.  My mood dictates the music I listen to when I quilt – anything from the Gypsy Kings to Duke Ellington to The Cars and Stevie Ray Vaughan might work, depending on the day, the project, and how I’m feeling!

But I’m ready for some new quilting music.  I’d like to create a new iTunes playlist – want to help me out?  What do you listen to when you’re looking for quilting inspiration?  Any specific favourite songs or just an artist in general?  Post your favourite tunes for me.  Who knows maybe we can get something started here?  “Music to Stitch By” available at HMV today!

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 4:55 am

    Hi Heather, hmmm what Steve Ray is always good, what about the new Michael Buble album – Crazy Love it’s fab!! I also like Sugarland they are upbeat and her voice is amazing. I’ll stop by your booth here in Calgary and say hi!! Can’t wait to meet you in person.

    Valerie
    http://www.pastimesonline.ca/vals-quilting/

  2. February 18, 2010 3:17 pm

    Sorry I can’t help ………I prefer silence when I quilt……….or perhaps it’s just that I enjoy listening to the music of my machine.

  3. February 18, 2010 9:28 pm

    I have a bunch of music I listen too. Always depends on the mood I’m in and what I’m quilting at the moment. Machine quilting is definitely Rod Stewart. The same CD every time. I know it by heart and I sing (?) along! I have Enya, Il Divo and the other day I listened to Men of the Deeps. If I’m working on a Christmas project I’ll pop in Josh Groban or Boney M!
    I have no favourites when it comes to music, I just won’t listen to hard rock or rap.

  4. February 19, 2010 3:39 am

    One of my favorites when I am in my sewing room is, Joan Baez. I have the collection, so listen to those cd’s and when I am creating, I like irish celtic music. I am more of a song person, I listen on itunes and if I like it, I download it, but I usually don”t get the whole album.

    Debbie

  5. February 19, 2010 10:51 pm

    Interesting to read the comments. My tastes run in the opposite direction to your other posters when I am quilting. I like music that gets the heart pumping – “Gel” by Collective Soul, “Paralyzer” by Finger Eleven, Bob Seger’s “Katmandu”, and Paul McCartney’s “Everybody Gonna Dance Tonight” or “Chaos and Creation” to name a few. Maybe this is why I quilt so fast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

