Skip to content

What am I going to do with this??!!

January 29, 2010

Shopping excursions always require a trip to the local thrift shop – just because.  Yesterday I was out and about looking for Valentine’s accessories for some quilt photography, and came across this:

What a fabulous find!  I couldn’t believe it!  And the price was right, only $1.99.  I just had to have it.

So what is it?  I think it’s a hat-maker’s mold, or a display model for hats.  I’m not really sure exactly what it is, but I knew as soon as I saw it, I couldn’t just leave it in the shop.  I had to lug it home.

Maybe I’ll use it as an extra-large pin-cushion when I’m quilting.  Or something to pin sample blocks to (instead of my full design board!).  Any other ideas?

(Keep your eyes peeled, you might even see it on the pages of Quilter’s Connection Magazine one day!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 2:17 am

    I think it would be a hilarious pin cushion – get those pretty pins with the coloured balls on the ends and it will be an amazing hairdo!

  2. January 29, 2010 5:29 am

    It could be your thread catcher for awhile… to create a funny hairstyle.

  3. January 30, 2010 9:43 pm

    Heather, I have to first say that I am delighted that I am not the only one drawn to the “Thrift Shops”!! I am always pleased with the number of things that so many are willing to part with and I am so eager to adopt! This one is fantastic! I am guessing that you are correct that it is a hat or wig display. If you really are intending on using it for a pincushion I think you need to add something to it so that it doesn’t look like you are pushing the pins into a head!

    Your Thrift Store Friend- Lesley

  4. January 31, 2010 2:42 am

    Looks like part of a giant fabric lightbulb to me! HAH!

  5. Laura Miron permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:08 pm

    Oh my gosh! I have wanted one of those for years, I wanted to use it for drying DH’s hats after they were washed and for making dorags! What a great find!!

  6. Heather permalink*
    April 27, 2010 9:47 pm

    Isn’t it great Laura! I still haven’t figured out what to do with it, but it looks great on the window shelf in my office!

Leave a Reply

