Skip to content

Quilt of Belonging

January 26, 2010

Saturday January 23rd.  I attended the opening of Quilt of Belonging at the Surrey Art Gallery in Surrey, BC.  The Quilt is part of the Cultural Olympiad here in Vancouver.

What a beautiful piece of art, so amazing and so inspiring!  Each time I see it, I see something new, and learn something different about the artist, Esther Bryan, and about The Quilt.

Here are some photos of the opening day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 4:35 am

    It must have been fabulous and awe-inspiring!!! The rainbow effect of the entire quilt is amazing! Do you know what the finished size is? Does it hold the Guinness book of world records for longest quilt?!

  2. January 26, 2010 4:16 pm

    I have GOT to get out to Surrey to see it this time!

  3. Joanne permalink
    January 26, 2010 4:55 pm

    It is great that you were able to take some photos of the quilt; that wasn’t allowed when I saw it during its first visit to Surrey. The book is great, but it has no photos of the finished and installed quilt. However, there is nothing like seeing it in person, and I’d love to be able to do that again. Maybe it will be at the CQA conference in April in Calgary.

  4. February 5, 2010 1:12 am

    I have the book, but I’ve yet to see this in person. There was an event in December, that I had to cancel out of due to a major snow storm.

    One day, I’ll see it for myself! Thanks for sharing the photos.

    Michele

  5. marjorie permalink
    February 8, 2010 5:09 am

    I saw the ‘Quilt of Belonging’ in 2005 when it was in Newfoundland. It is fabulous. I’m sure that my daughter and I spent at least 3 hours at the gallery. Make sure you give yourself enough time to really look at this work of art.

Leave a Reply

