Skip to content

Ahh, for the love of quilting!

November 16, 2009

It seems so long since I have had an opportunity to sit in front of my sewing machine to create.  Create anything, just create.  Just for me.  And so today I made up my mind to forego all other activities (which wasn’t difficult – it’s raining here, and who really wants to go outside in the rain?) to just sew.

And sew I did!  What a great day!  My DH was out of the house, doing manly things, and I was alone with Nero the cat, who thoroughly enjoyed helping me out.

Nero the Friendly Beast

Just me, and Nero, and my lovely sewing machine.

Here is what I accomplished today.  It’s based on the traditional log cabin pattern.  I’m calling it “Christmas at the Cabin”…

Christmas at the Cabin

I’m quite pleased with the results.  No new fabrics were purchased to create this.  None.  This quilt is made entirely from red and green fabric scraps found in my heap.  Ah, yes – my heap.  You see, I am not nearly as neat as so many other quilters out there.  I do not have a stash, I have a heap.   It began innocently.  A way to contain my fabric scraps in a neat and orderly way.  A great idea come to life as a Rubbermaid bin complete with a lid, however  – despite the fact that I have not purchased new fabrics recently, and even with the scrap-busting event I had today – has overflowed and taken over a corner spot in my sewing room.  It has become a big, scary, scrap fabric monster.

The Monster

The lid no longer fits.  I’ve had to purchase a second bin just to fit the smaller scraps of fabric.  But it really is exciting when you are searching for that one piece that will make your quilt complete, and you find it.  In your scrap bin!  Hooray!  Rejoice!  Celebrate!

Today was one of those days.  A perfect day for a quilter.  A perfect day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 4:21 am

    What a wonderful quilt and I love the use of various red and green scraps.

    Debbie

  2. November 16, 2009 7:39 pm

    I can so relate to your heap! Your quilt turned out beautifully, and yay for you for taking a day to sew!

Leave a Reply

