Skip to content

1st Response!

November 11, 2009

Laurraine and I just received our first photo of a project made from the Fall issue of the magazine by one of our readers.  I thought I’d share it with all of you.  Alejandra in Mexico created this…

Partridge in a Pear Tree by Alejandra of Mexico

Partridge in a Pear Tree

Didn’t it turn out great?  Alejandra wrote this about her version of the project:

I made this beautiful project which came out on the first Quilter’s Connection Magazine from Canada. It was designed by Laurraine Yuyama of Patchwork Pottery who is also the Creative Director for the magazine. I love every single detail, especially the quilted leaves which go on each end of the tree branch. I embroidered part of the piano score for the song instead of embroidering the name of it.

I love the idea for using the music score instead of the words!  Thanks for sharing, Alejandra! (here is a link to her blog, if you are interested in seeing more photos)

If you’ve made one of our projects, we’d love to see it!  Please send us your photos, and a brief description, and we’ll post it on the blog to share with everyone!

info@quiltersconnection.ca

Many thanks, and Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 11:50 pm

    I loved your first magazine so much that I bought 2 and used one as a give away along with fabric to make the Partridge in a Pear Tree. (I also blogged about your magazine).
    I am the queen of re-cycling-

    I used old men’s shirts to make a beautiful blue and green quilt! It turned out great (see my blog as I posted pictures) and yes, I saved the buttons.

    I make penny rugs out of old wool jackets and coats (see my blog pictures!)

    I got a bag of wool roving samples which I used for wool felting (see blog- Christmas black felt runner).

    I also salvaged some old lace and scraps of velvet which I am going to use in a crazy quilt!

    I use the lids to ice cream and yogurt containers to cut out templates to mark my quilts for hand quilting. They never loose their shape and are nice and thick and tough. Love them- NEVER throw a lid away!!

    I use the plastic bags with zippers (from sheets, blankets) to store themed/designer fabric in. Perfect as it keeps the fabric clean and you can see clearly what it is.

    I save all leftover fabric strips and put them into a contain to be used in a strip quilt at a later date (when I have collected enough for a quilt.) See strip quilt on my blog.

    I use cereal boxes cardboard which I cut into hexagon shapes to make hexagon quilts out of. I put all leftover fabric pieces around 2 inches square in bags to make into hexagons quilts. (see blog for hexagon quilt)

    I thrift shop and garage sale for fabric or for ‘special’ finds! I have found some great things!
    Take care and I hope you enter me in your draw!! Can’t wait to see your next issue!
    Paulette (Sweet P Quilting and Creations)

  2. November 12, 2009 6:11 pm

    I keep all my scraps in a basket, on my work table.
    When I need a small piece for applique, I take from the basket.
    I hate to cut into new fabric for little pieces.

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

