Skip to content

Word up!

September 28, 2009

I was invited to host a table at Word on the Street in Vancouver, BC yesterday.  Word on the Street (or WOTS) is an annual book and magazine festival celebrating literacy and the written word, and events like this are hosted across Canada. I’d never been before, and it was very nice to attend as a vendor, thanks to the BC Association for Magazine Publishers, who sponsored Quilter’s Connection and a number of other magazines to join them in their tent.

What a crazy day!  A very celebratory atmosphere, and the weather was warm and sunny, as long as you were not in the shade.  Had alot of people stop by my table to find out more about the magazine, and we even had a draw for a 2010 Quilt calendar.  Virginia Wesner was the lucky winner.  The best part was that I was able to introduce people to Canada’s only magazine dedicated to quilting.  I still cannot get over how many quilters come out of the woodwork when you start talking!

I did take photos, on my cellphone (because I forgot my camera this time!) – but for some reason can’t download them onto the computer.  Have to find the manual and try to figure that out.  Where is that darn manual??

I have a bit of a rest, before I head off to the Creativ Festival in Toronto – October 16-18.  That will be a very exciting time and I’m really looking forward to it!

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

