Skip to content

Tips for Quilters

July 22, 2009

I thought a list of quilting tips would be a good idea for a posting.  I’ve had people suggest many things over the years, some I remember, and some I only wish I could remember.  Here are a few tips for quilters that I do recall, and have tried myself – they’re great!

  • Place a large cookie sheet on top of your sewing table and under your sewing machine. It will catch any errant pins, and prevent them from falling to the floor, never to be seen again. Or worse, found stuck inside your big toe – ouch!
  • Use the subscription reply cards you find in magazines for templates for your Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilts. They are the perfect weight of paper for such a project!
  • Always misplacing the scissors you use to cut thread when sitting at your sewing machine? Tie one end of a long piece of string or elastic to your scissors, and tie the other end to the handle of your sewing machine… voila! You’ll never lose your scissors again!
  • When making a label for your quilt, sew the label (right side in) onto light muslin. Sew all four sides closed, then cut a small hole in in the middle of the muslin. Turn right side out and iron. This eliminates having to turn under your edges when hand sewing your label onto the quilt! PS – I’ve used old fabric softener dryer sheets instead of muslin!
  • Use a lint brush to clean small trimmings off your cutting mat
  • Pull your quilting thread through a fabric softener dryer sheet to prevent knotting
  • Use cookie cutter shapes for a quick and easy design for machine or hand quilting

If you have any quilting tips that you would like to share, please feel free to post!

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hi Heather

    Hope your readers enjoy this tip of mine, published in my recent Quilters Net newsletter.

    A Quilters Travel Tip

    Isn’t it interesting how the light bulb turns on? In our minds I mean! On my recent trip to Newfoundland via ferry, I was sitting in my cabin hand stitching a few patches together. I simply wasn’t happy with the finger pressing and wished I had brought along my mini iron.

    I did, however, have my curling iron which was plugged in ready to try and tame my curly hair. Well I tried it on my quilt patches instead, and voila, it worked! And what works even better is a flat iron hair straightener, which I tried when I arrived at my daughters home. It’s a bit hotter than a curling iron so just be careful not to scorch.
    Have fun and let me know how it works when you try it.

    Bev Crouse

  2. wisenewbags permalink
    August 8, 2009 8:28 pm

    Quilting Tips for Fishers
    I Just love to catch fish, but I must confess its a wee bit taxing to go Bar Fishing without anything to do. I have been taking small hand sewing and hand quilting projects with me for year. Here’s how you can too.
    -locate a two – three compartment smallish sized back pack
    -organize your sewing notions, fabric pieces into zip lock bags
    -organize those into the compartments in your back pack and head to the bank

    The kinds of small projects that are perfect are hand pieced grand mothers garden hexagons, hand embroidery or hand quilting that is a smallish size.
    How do you keep your project clean?
    This is a common one of the many folks I meet on the river. I keep the project I’m working on inside a zip lock bag big enough to stuff all of it into when my fish bell starts ringing.
    Great topic Bev.

    Caroline Heinrichs- wisenewbags.wordpress.com

  3. northernquilter permalink*
    September 14, 2009 8:32 pm

    Love those tips – they are great ideas! Please keep your tips coming, and make sure you let me know who you are because I want to give you credit for the idea!

  4. September 15, 2009 5:20 pm

    Fall of 2009

    Quick WI is starting a stitching group for young women from the Round Lake, Quick and Walcott areas. This is a fun group that wants to pass on the old skills of the past. So anyone who lives in these area of Northern BC should pass on these email contacts. We’ll be concentrating on sewing skills, quilting and working on projects for 4-H projects and badges.
    We’ll be meeting at the beautiful renovated Round Lake Hall. Anyone is welcome.

    contact Yo at roundlakeyo@hotmail.com

    or Carli at carlithequilter@gmail.com

  5. northernquilter permalink*
    September 15, 2009 8:50 pm

    Thanks for your info Caroline. Hope you get lots of interested people out!

  6. Michelle Moase permalink
    January 30, 2010 3:54 am

    Another great tip for those quilters who take their projects on the road – use a pedicure sponge (they go between your toes when you’re painting them) for a bobbin holder. They keep the threads from getting tangled and are perfect and compact.

Leave a Reply

