Skip to content

Contest!

July 10, 2009

I’ve decided to extend the deadline for entries to my contest, since I’ve only had one person respond so far.  One person?  I’m giving away free stuff!

It’s easy to enter – just respond with a note on how you decorate for Christmas using quilts.  We want to hear your ideas.  Not only will you win a lovely selection of Christmas fat quarter fabrics, but all your ideas will be used in an article in the December issue of Quilter’s Connection Magazine!

So dust off your Christmas decorations, make yourself some yule nog, and send me your ideas before the random draw on July 31st!

(Reminder, contest is open to Canadian viewers only, please)

Happy Quilting! ~ Heather

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 11:01 am

    Well, tablerunner, bun warmer, wall-hanging, tree-skirt… I’m certain those have all been thought of! How about using a quilt to wrap a present?! Or just as an area rug… it would make cleaning up all that wrapping paper a cinch! Ummm…. How about rolling one up to use as a wreath? I still think hanging a small quilt on the wall to pin Christmas cards to is a neat idea. That’s all I can think of…. for now :o)
    Hugs, Laurraine

  2. Cynthia Mitro-Richardson permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:56 pm

    In the livingroom I hang a 12 days of Christmas wallhanging approx. 50”x50”(a project from Quiltmaker 2004) The large oil painting is removed & the nails were installed to hold the quilt rod, year after year. This has now turned into our Traditional Christmas Quilt.
    The 5 gold rings are within the quilt, 4 visible & the 5th is tied to ribbon…it was the Lord of the Rings, ring from my youngest sons game. A fun conversation piece to visiting family & friends through the festive season.
    To me it’s the most wonderful time of the year, followed by the 1st day of school for the kids!
    I’m a Mom of 4 & Grandma of 5, I love routine & family traditions!
    Cynthia Mitro-Richardson
    London, Ontario

  3. July 24, 2009 2:40 pm

    Over the years, Christmas decorations have come and gone in our Nova Scotia home. From wreaths to blue bows with white garland (what was I thinking?), from broken ornaments (oops!)to worn out place mats.

    I rarely, however, get rid of my quilted things, although I change from one year to the next. I seem have more than enough Christmas quilted things to go around. And I’m making more as I write this.

    But there is one item that remains constant and goes out every year without exception.

    That is a “Beary Merry Christmas” advent calendar wall hanging, made ages ago. It was a VIP panel with a cross section of a house, a Christmas Bear, and a calendar below. Each day, the Christmas Bear, with a litle help from us, moves from room to room loking for Christmas.

    As children, our 2 girls would race to the calendar each morning to see where to look next. Now, as grown women, they still look for this if they happen to be home for Christmas.

    Hubby and I continue to maintain this tradition and make sure the Christmas Bear always finds Christmas..

    • Janelle permalink
      October 22, 2009 12:46 pm

      Hello,
      I was doing a search for “A Beary Merry Christmas Calendar” and came across your blog. My family also had that calendar when we were growing up and I would like to carry on the tradition for my children because we loved it so much when we were growing up. I am trying to locate the pattern for that Calendar and was wondering if you knew if the pattern is still out there and if so where I might find it. My mom still has the calendar and all of my siblings want it so I thought it would just be easier to make a new one for my family. 🙂 Any help you could provide on this would be very much appreciated. Thank you!

      • northernquilter permalink*
        October 22, 2009 3:17 pm

        Hi Janelle,
        I have not seen that patten before – good luck with your search! And any other readers, if you know of it, please help Janelle out!
        Thanks – Heather

      • Candice permalink
        November 16, 2009 8:07 am

        I also have been looking ALL over for this pattern! If you find anything can you PLEASE let me know?? I have a child I’d love to start this tradtion with also as I did as a child. Thank you!!!!!!!!!

      • Trish permalink
        November 25, 2009 2:13 pm

        I also have that panel and have looked for it high and low because I have two children – one of whom moved to Australia and I know it would make Christmas for him to have that for his kids. Has anyone found that panel anywhere???

  4. Sandy Fricker permalink
    July 25, 2009 12:27 am

    Although our home is decorated every Christmas in country Christmas colours with our quilted tree skirt, quilted wallhanging “All Hearts come Home at Christmas”, a quilt on the couch, and a quilted window hanging (the centre is not quilted and has black “leading” sewn on both sides), the newest item that adds to the cozy simplicity of our Christmas celebration is the PRAIRIE POINTS GARLAND resting on the boughs of our Christmas tree.
    Simply fold 4″ squares of appropriate coloured fabric into prairie points. Using a length of homemade bias tape to cover the raw edges of the triangles, line up the raw edges of the prairie point triangles with the tip of one prairie point tucked into the next. Close the bias tape and topstitch the prairie points in place. Make as your garland as long as you want to string around your tree or as garland along staircases or doorways.
    Since my Prairie Point Garland is in country colours, the bias string is a plaid. The pattern on the fabric does not need to be a Christmas theme, so enjoy using your scraps!

  5. July 26, 2009 2:35 am

    This will be my first year as a quilter so I have high expectations of myself and what I can make LOL. I’m hoping for quilted stockings for my family and a couch quilt to snuggle up under as we enjoy a Christmas in the far north (can you hear the northern lights singing?).

    In the past though I have used quilts and sewing to decorate. I’ve a cross stitched piece that has been quilted into a wallhanging, it’s a lovely folk art angel, so cute. I’ve used a quilt as my tree skirt, just wrapped around the base and loosely laying there. And I’ve a quilted pillow with four santas that I’ve stitched. I LOVE CHRISTMAS!

  6. Marge Jansonius permalink
    July 26, 2009 11:27 pm

    I have a quilt that I use as a throw on our sofa and also a Christmas table runner and place mats that get a lot of use.
    We travel in our RV over the holidays so they all come with us. Thank you for having a chance to enlarge on my christmas themed fabric. Marge

  7. July 28, 2009 11:49 pm

    Ooooh…a contest! I just found out today about the new Canadian Quilt magazine and have found the site! Woohoo! Happy Dancing here!

    Christmas decorations. Well, I have my good old advent calendar, which was cross stitched and then quilted borders. I have quilted decorative stockings because our old knitted ones can’t be discarded ;). I have a store-bought tree skirt, but THIS year I WILLmake my own…errrr…quilt it! I have tin soldier wall hanging and lots of quilted decorations. I love small Christmas quilted projects to put up.

    I didn’t see what the prize was for the contest, but I am happy to oblige!
    I also put the word out on my blog about the magazine!

    Later,
    Peggy

  8. July 29, 2009 12:26 pm

    Christmas decorating brings out special quilted items around here. One of the first quilts I ever made has snowmen inside black and white fabric stars. It’s a very busy to look at wall hanging, but I like to look at it! I also take out quilted placemats that my husband’s grandmother made. The red’s a bit bright, but so are the happy memories. This year I can’t wait to use the new quilted tree skirt that we received as a gift last year. It’s gorgeous. I want to put the tree up early so I can look at it longer before it’s covered up with presents! And I’m also working on making an advent quilt covered in little stockings to stuff with surprises. It may not be ready for this year, but it will definitely add to our special quilted Christmas decorations. Thanks for making me think of these warm fuzzies in the middle of summer. Looking forward to the magazine – and the chance to win some fabric.

  9. Deb Roskelley permalink
    November 2, 2009 6:40 pm

    Nov 1 Christmas is not far away. I decorate with Quilted table runners and a Nativity scene

    Friends got together and paperpeiced stars, did applicate and machined quilted once we were done. Also time to get out my swags that will drape my banisters with quilted Gingerbread men and hearts. I am looking forward to adding a Star tablerunner this year with hotpad to match!!! Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

