Skip to content

Holiday decorating ideas + a contest

July 5, 2009

The Christmas photo shoot was postponed for a couple of weeks, thank goodness!  I was nowhere near to being ready for it.  But I think I am now.  I still find it very odd that I’m decorating my house for Christmas, while we are in the middle of a heat-wave outside!

As I frantically scramble to find all the decorations, finish making quilted tree ornaments, and decide what quilts I’m going to use – and where, I still think it’s fun to decorate for the holidays, especially using quilts.  I love the challenge of coming up with ideas for using quilts in new and unique ways, and finding uses the leftover bits of fabrics after finishing a project.

Which leads me to today’s post title.  Let me know how you use quilts to decorate for the holidays, and you could win a prize!  I will give away a selection of holiday fabric fat quarters to the person with the most unique idea of using quilts to decorate for the Christmas holidays.  A way to get us all in the spirit!

Sorry, contest open to Canadian residents only.  I will announce the winner on Saturday, July 11th.

Happy Quilting!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 5:13 am

    How wonderful, a contest open to Canadian residents only! As I am living in BC, I am thrilled! I decorate for all seasons/holidays–including Christmas. Since I am a quilter, quilts are a very big part of my decorating scheme. For Christmas, I have a few quilts made from Christmas fabrics. These can be found hanging on the walls, decorating beds, drapped over the couch, etc. I also have made various quilted or quilt themed ornaments for our tree. I try to add a new quilted decoration each year. I have quilts that adorn the table, quilted placemats and table runners on the furniture and kitchen counter. I even bring out quilts that might not be made from typical Christmas fabrics but which fit the theme–because they are predominatly red or green. Christmas is a great time of year to showcase quilting!

  2. July 10, 2009 2:06 am

    I don’t do a lot of decorating here in Ottawa, as I spend Christmas with family in the Toronto area. However, I do have one quilt I made from a paper-piecing swap that I did a few years ago. It’s always such a treasure to bring it out each year. You can see it here:

    http://quiltinggallery.com/2008/02/14/christmas-exchange/

    I’ve made some holiday decorations for my mom that she brings out each year, but not an actual quilt. I should start planning something special.

Trackbacks

  1. Give-away! « Northernquilter’s Blog

Leave a Reply

