Skip to content

Re-tracing My Roots

September 9, 2010

Remember this photo?

That’s me with my Nana. I was about seven years old. One of the last trips I made with my family to visit my grandparents in Manitoba. I blogged about my grandmother way back in January.

My Nana was a quilter. And my cousin Cathy, who lives in Manitoba, is a quilter.  And I am a quilter.

It does run in the blood.

If you read the post from January about my Nana, you will not be surprised when I say that on Tuesday, my husband and I are packing the car, picking up my parents, and heading to northern Manitoba for two weeks. I’m still in a bit of shock about the decision, as I never in a million years thought I’d get back there. It’s been too long since I’ve been with my family. I don’t know any of them. But it’s time to spark old (and new) relationships and friendships. Long overdue.

On the way home I will be stopping in Dauphin, Manitoba. The Parkland’s Crocus Quilters’ Guild is hosting a quilt show September 25 & 26, and Quilter’s Connection Magazine will be a merchant. More details on the show here, if you are in the area.

I’m quite looking forward to the trip. Looking forward to learning a bit more about me. I hope to blog a bit about the journey, but will be saving all the really, really good stories for an article for the Winter issue of the magazine.

Wish me luck.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Schwartz permalink
    September 9, 2010 10:52 pm

    Heather, I hope you have a great trip and reconnect with many family members. I live in northern Manitoba and was curious what town your grandmother is from? The leaves are just starting to turn here and it is a great time of year to visit because….NO BUGS!!

  2. September 9, 2010 11:52 pm

    Safe travels to you and D, have a wonderful trip!!!

  3. September 10, 2010 3:23 pm

    Have a great time in Manitoba – we still have a cottage on the Manitoba/Sask border – and the bugs were not that bad at all this year! Love the magazine and can’t wait for the next issue to come out. It is always good to connect with family!

  4. September 12, 2010 8:20 pm

    What a wonderful trip and will be so fun to see your family again.
    Add a quilt show stop and you have the perfect vacation;)
    I hope you share your journey with us.

    Debbie

  5. Anna P permalink
    September 12, 2010 9:52 pm

    Safe journey and enjoy the time with family! Good luck at the Quilting show!! Much success! look forward to seeing/hearing about the journey!
    Cheers, Anna

  6. September 13, 2010 3:31 pm

    Have a wonderful trip Heather!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

